Annual Report (2016) from the Japanese National Committee

On 26 December, 2016, the annual meeting of National Committee for CIHA took place. On that occasion, after the report of the General Assembly and the sessions of the 34th World Congress of Beijing in September made by the president S. Osano and Professor T. Nakamura, some points were argued between the participants.

- 1) A particular discussion was made about the Article VII- 2.(The level of annual subscriptions is fixed by the General Assembly. Subscriptions are only payable by Titular Members, not Supplementary Members, and are due on 1 January.) of the newly approved statutes of CIHA. In the case of Japanese Committee, the two representatives for CIHA have payed the anual membership by their own expense for a long time. By respect for the same Article VII-2, therefore, it was approved that the national Committee makes the payment of the annual membership from this year onwards.
- 2) The Statutes of the national Committee has specified the retiring age of members (70 years old). As Professor Masanory Aoyagi (the former chief of the Agency for Cultural Affairs) retired from the national Committee in 2016, some names were listed as candidates of new members that include some young female scholars.
- 3) An intensive discussion was made about the near-future activity of the national Committee inside and outside Japan.

It has been agreed that the national Committee will make an effort at promoting the scholarly exchange between Japan and Far East Asian countries, the Republic of Korea in particular, so that this country may join CIHA in near future (wishfully by 2020). Such an effort will continue to be done, however, taking into consideration politically unfavorable circumstances between Japan and the country.

4) It has also been argued that the national Committee will try to organize a smaller colloquium or conference for CIHA than that held at the Otsuka Museum of Art in Naruto city in January 2013, in collaboration with Japan Art History Society, preferably before 2020.

The summary of the above-described discussions will be given at the next general Assembly of Japan Art History Socoiety to be held in May 2017.

Here is attached the 2016 list of the national Commettee's members:

AKIYAMA, Akira, Pr. of the University of Tokyo (general secretary of the national committee)

HAGA, Kyoko, Associate Pr. of Tohoku University

HIRAKAWA, kayo, Associate Pr. of Kyoto University

IDE, Seinosuke, Pr. of Kyushu University

IKEGAMI, Hiroko, Associate Pr. of Kobe University

ITAKURA, Masaaki, Pr. of the University of Tokyo

KIMATA, Motokazu, Pr. of Nagoya University

KODERA, Tsukasa, Pr. of Osaka University

KOSHIKAWA, Michiaki, Pr. of Tokyo University of the Arts

MIURA, Atsushi, Pr. of the University of Tokyo (Supplementary from Japan)

NAGAOKA, Ryusaku, Pr. of Tohoku University

NAKAMURA, Toshiharu, Pr. of Kyoto University (Titular from Japan)

OMUKA, Toshiharu, Pr. of Tsukuba University

OSANO, Shigetoshi, Pr. of the University of Tokyo (Titular from Japan)

SUZUKI, Hiroyuki, Pr. of Gakugei University (Supplementary from Japan)

TAKAGISHI, Akira, Associate Pr. of the University of Tokyo

TOYAMA, Koichi, Pr. of Keio University

USHIROSYOJI, Masahiro, Pr. of Kyushu University

TAKASHINA, Shuji, Pr. Emeritus of the University of Tokyo, (honorary member of the national committee)